Singapore School Terms and Holidays for 2022

Primary and Secondary Schools Calendar 2022

The school year for 2022 for all MOE primary and secondary schools will start on Tuesday, 4 January and end on Friday, 18 November 2022. (Source [11 Aug 2021])

➡️ Related Read: Important PSLE Dates 2022


For MOE Kindergartens & Primary Schools

On 4 January 2022, only Kindergarten 1 children in MOE kindergartens and Primary 1 pupils will report to their schools for the first day of school. This includes the primary and junior sections of special education schools, and is similar to the arrangement earlier this year.

One parent or guardian will be allowed to accompany their Kindergarten 1 or Primary 1 child or ward to their new school to help them better adjust to the new environment and routines.

Kindergarten 2 children and Primary 2 to 6 pupils will return to school only a day later on 5 January 2022.

This will better facilitate the safe return of students at the start of the school year and ensure safe management measures can be implemented effectively, said the Ministry of Education. (Source [8 Nov 2021])

For Secondary Schools

Not mentioned specifically in the 8 Nov press release.

Note: Dates are correct at the time of publication and can be superseded by announcements made later by MOE due to the uncertainties of COVID-19. We shall update this space as soon as there are any updates.


Semester I
Term I Tue 4 Jan to Fri 11 Mar 2022
Term II Mon 21 Mar to Fri 27 May 2022
Semester II
Term III Mon 27 Jun to Fri 2 Sep 2022
Term IV Mon 12 Sep to *Fri 18 Nov 2022

 
* The last day of the final school term for schools which will be used as venues for the GCE O-Level written examinations will be Friday, 28 October 2022.

Primary and Secondary School Vacations 2022

The four vacation periods for Primary Schools, Secondary Schools for 2022 will be as follows:

Primary and Secondary Schools
Between Terms I & II Sat 12 Mar to Sun 20 Mar 2022
Between Semesters I & II Sat 28 May to Sun 26 Jun 2022
Between Terms III & IV Sat 3 Sep to Sun 11 Sep 2022
At End of School Year Sat 19 Nov to Sat 31 Dec 2022

 
There are four scheduled school holidays. The Day after National Day on 10 August 2022, Teachers’ Day will be celebrated on 2 September 2022, and Children’s Day on 7 October 2022. As Youth Day falls on a Sunday (3 July 2022), the following Monday (4 July 2022) will be a school holiday.

Scheduled Primary & Secondary School Holidays

The scheduled school holidays for 2022 will be as follows:

Youth Day Sun 3 Jul 2022 (The following Monday, 4 Jul 2022 will be a scheduled school holiday)
Day After National Day Wed 10 Aug 2022
Teachers’ Day Fri 2 Sep 2022
Children’s Day
(for primary schools and primary sections of full schools only)
Fri 7 Oct 2022

 




Public Holidays 2022

Term I New Year’s Day Sat 1 Jan 2022
Chinese New Year Tue 1 Feb 2022
Wed 2 Feb 2022
Term II Good Friday Fri 15 Apr 2022
Labour Day **Sun 1 May 2022
Hari Raya Puasa Tue 3 May 2022
Vesak Day ***Sun 15 May 2022
Term III Hari Raya Haji ****Sun 10 Jul 2022
National Day Tue 9 Aug 2022
Term IV Deepavali Mon 24 Nov 2022
Christmas Day *****Sun 25 Dec 2022

*Monday, 3 Jan, will be a school holiday.
**Monday, 2 May, will be a public holiday.
***Monday, 16 May, will be a public holiday.
****Monday, 11 Jul, will be a public holiday.
*****Monday, 26 Dec, will be a public holiday.

Source

➡️ Related Read: Singapore Public Holidays 2022 – 6 Long Weekends

Updated on 21 Oct: Hari Raya Puasa will be on 3 May 2022 and Hari Raya Haji on 10 July 2022.

* * * * *

Like what you see here? Get parenting tips and stories straight to your inbox! Join our mailing list here.

Want to be heard 👂 and seen 👀 by over 100,000 parents in Singapore? We can help! Leave your contact here and we’ll be in touch.