Singapore School Terms and Holidays for 2023

The school year for 2023 for all MOE primary and secondary schools will start on Tuesday 3 January 2023¹ and end on Friday 17 November 2023².

First Day of School Arrangements

*Similar to the arrangements in 2021 and 2022, Primary 1 and Kindergarten 1 students in primary schools and MOE Kindergartens will report on the first day of school on 3 Jan 2023. Primary 2 to 6 and Kindergarten 2 students will report to school on 4 Jan 2023.

➡️ Related Read: Important PSLE Dates 2022

➡️ Related Read: November / December School Holiday 2022 Activities for Kids


Primary and Secondary Schools Calendar 2023

Semester I
Term I Tue 3 Jan¹ to Fri 10 Mar 2023
Term II Mon 20 Mar to Fri 26 May 2023
Semester II
Term III Mon 26 Jun to Fri 1 Sep 2023
Term IV Mon 11 Sep to Fri 17 Nov 2023²

 

¹ Primary 1 and Kindergarten 1 will start school on Tuesday, 3 January 2023. Primary 2 to 6 and Kindergarten 2 will start school on Wednesday, 4 January 2023.
² The last day of the final school term for schools which will be used as venues for the GCE O-Level written examinations, will be Friday, 27 October 2023.

Race Junior

Primary and Secondary School Vacations 2023

The four vacation periods for Primary Schools, Secondary Schools for 2023 will be as follows:

Primary and Secondary Schools
Between Terms I & II Sat 11 Mar to Sun 19 Mar 2023
Between Semesters I & II Sat 27 May to Sun 25 Jun 2023
Between Terms III & IV Sat 2 Sep to Sun 10 Sep 2023
At End of School Year Sat 18 Nov to Sat 31 Dec 2023

 
There are four scheduled school holidays. The Day after National Day on 10 August 2023, Teachers’ Day will be celebrated on 1 September 2023, and Children’s Day on 6 October 2023. As Youth Day falls on a Sunday (2 July 2023), the following Monday (3 July 2023) will be a school holiday.

Scheduled Primary & Secondary School Holidays

The scheduled school holidays for 2023 will be as follows:

Youth Day Sun 2 Jul 2023
Day After National Day Thu 10 Aug 2023
Teachers’ Day Fri 1 Sep 2023
Children’s Day
(for primary schools and primary sections of full schools only)
Fri 6 Oct 2023

 




For more information, visit here.

Public Holidays 2023

Term I New Year’s Day *Sun 1 Jan 2023
Chinese New Year **Sun 22 Jan 2023
Mon 23 Jan 2023
Term II Good Friday Fri 7 Apr 2023
Hari Raya Puasa ***Sat 22 Apr 2023
Labour Day Mon 1 May 2023
Vesak Day Fri 2 Jun 2023
Term III Hari Raya Haji Thu 29 Jun 2023
National Day Wed 9 Aug 2023
Term IV Deepavali ****Sun 12 Nov 2023
Christmas Day Mon 25 Dec 2023

* Monday, 2 Jan will be a school holiday.
** Tuesday, 24 Jan will be a public holiday.
*** Monday, 24 Apr will be a school holiday and a designated day off-in-lieu, schools are closed including the General Office, Student Care Centre/Kindergarten Care (KCare) Centres.
**** Monday, 13 Nov will be a public holiday.

Source

➡️ Related Read: Singapore Public Holidays 2023 – 7 Long Weekends

* * * * *

Like what you see here? Get parenting tips and stories straight to your inbox! Join our mailing list here.

Want to be heard 👂 and seen 👀 by over 100,000 parents in Singapore? We can help! Leave your contact here and we’ll be in touch.