Singapore School Terms and Holidays for 2021

Primary and Secondary Schools Calendar 2021

The school year for 2021 for all MOE primary and secondary schools will start on Monday, 4 January 2021 and end on Friday, 19 November 2021.


Update 14 Jun 2021: Arrangements for Schools and Institutes of Higher Learning Under Phase 3 (Heightened Alert)

To ease into full resumption of school when Term 3 begins on Monday, 28 June 2021, the following arrangements have been made for students from primary and secondary schools, junior colleges (JCs) and Millennia Institute (MI) for the first week of school (please refer to the ANNEX for the illustrative schedule for Week 1):

  • From Monday, 28 June 2021, Primary 4 to 6, Secondary 3 to 5 and all JC/MI students will return to school.
  • Secondary 1 and 2 students will be on Home-Based Learning (HBL) till Wednesday, 30 June 2021, and will return to school from Thursday, 1 July 2021.
  • Primary 1 to 3 students will be on HBL for the first week, and schools will continue to provide instructions and support for students to access online and hardcopy HBL materials.

All levels of students will return to school from Tuesday, 6 July 2021 onwards, as Monday, 5 July 2021 is a school holiday (Youth Day).

For more information, visit here.


Update: Only K1 children and P1 students will report to school on 4 January 2021 (Monday). Kindergarten 2 (K2) children and Primary 2 (P2) to Primary 6 (P6) students will remain at home on 4 January 2021, and report to school on 5 January 2021 (Tuesday). All secondary schools, JCs and MI will resume their school year as scheduled, and parents/guardians will only be allowed to drop off their child/ward at school.

For more information, visit here.

➡️ Related Read: PSLE 2021 Dates

Semester I
Term I Mon 4 Jan to Fri 12 Mar 2021
Term II Mon 22 Mar to Fri 28 May 2021
Semester II
Term III Mon 28 Jun to Fri 3 Sep 2021
Term IV Mon 13 Sep to *Fri 19 Nov 2021

* The last day of the final school term for schools which will be used as venues for the GCE O Level written examinations will be Friday, 29 October 2021.




Primary and Secondary School Vacations 2021

The four vacation periods for Primary schools, Secondary schools for 2021 will be as follows:

Primary and Secondary Schools
Between Terms I & II Sat 16 Mar to Sun 24 Mar 2021
Between Semesters I & II Sat 29 May to Sun 27 Jun 2021
Between Terms III & IV Sat 4 Sep to Sun 12 Sep 2021
At End of School Year Sat 20 Nov to Fri 31 Dec 2021

There are four scheduled school holidays. Teachers’ Day will be celebrated on 3 Sep 2021, and Children’s Day on 8 Oct 2021. As Youth Day falls on a Sunday (4 July 2021), the following Monday (5 July 2021) will be a school holiday.

Scheduled Primary & Secondary School Holidays

The scheduled school holidays for 2021 will be as follows:

Youth Day Sun 4 Jul 2021 (The following Monday, 5 Jul 2021 will be a scheduled school holiday)
Day After National Day Tue 10 Aug 2021
Teachers’ Day Fri 3 Sep 2021
Children’s Day
(for primary schools and primary sections of full schools only)
Fri 8 Oct 2021

Public Holidays 2021

Term I New Year’s Day Fri 1 Jan 2021
Chinese New Year Fri 12 Feb 2021
*Sat 13 Feb 2021
Term II Good Friday Fri 2 Apr 2021
Labour Day **Sat 1 May 2021
Hari Raya Puasa Thu 13 May 2021
Vesak Day Wed 26 May 2021
Term III Hari Raya Haji Tue 20 Jul 2021
National Day Mon 9 Aug 2021
Term IV Deepavali Thu 4 Nov 2021
Christmas Day Sat 25 Dec 2021

*Monday, 15 Feb, will be a school holiday.
**Monday, 3 May, will be a school holiday.

Source

➡️ Related Read: Singapore Public Holidays 2021 – 4 Long Weekends

* * * * *

Like what you see here? Get parenting tips and stories straight to your inbox! Join our mailing list here.

Want to be heard 👂 and seen 👀 by over 100,000 parents in Singapore? We can help! Leave your contact here and we’ll be in touch.